30 Day e-Tourist Visa to India

Hello Fellow Globetrotters!

Today I would like to outline a step-by-step guide on how I received my 30-day Tourist Visa to India, and how easy it was!

So this is the golden website:

https://indianvisaonline.gov.in/visa/tvoa.html

First off I am a U.S. citizen, but this guide will apply to all citizens in the countries/territories listed on the website that are eligible for the e-Tourist visa. This includes: Australians, Germans, Canadians, Japanese, South African… there’s a huge list of over 40 150 countries that can get the e-visa, just check online!

29908247571_41b4769999_k

So! The past two times I have gotten a visa for India (in late 2012 and early 2014) it wasn’t necessarily a pain, but it was not this easy! I am super stoked to show you guys just how easy it is! Before, I had to mail my passport and documents to the Indian embassy, and I went through a company in New York that helps expedite the process. They were a wonderful company to work with, but still: the whole procedure took more time, more headache, and more money. 

But now look no further! We have the Indian e-Tourist Visa (eTV) online!

So these are the 4 easy steps: Apply Online, Pay Visa Fee Online, Print Out your e-Visa once it comes to you via email, and Fly to India!

Eligibility:

First Step: Go to the website and make sure you fall under each category of Eligibility:

For example, your main purpose is to sight-see, for recreation, or to visit friends and relatives. Not for employment purposes. 

You should have a return ticket or onward journey ticket, showing that you will be leaving after your visa expires in 30 days. 

Also: Make sure that your passport is valid for at least 6 months from the date you arrive in India. For example: If you arrive January 1st, make sure your passport doesn’t expire before July. Also have at least two empty/blank passport pages for the Immigration Officer to stamp.

Okay, so you have decided that this is the correct visa for you! Now visit the Instructions page. 

Instructions:

When to Apply?

You must apply between 4 days and 30 days of you arrival to India. 

You have to upload a recent front-facing photograph with a white background. I went to Walgreens to got a set of passport photos, and that works perfectly. You also need to take a photo of your passport information page. Make sure that this isn’t blurry and that all the information is legible. 

Next is the fee: for U.S. citizens it is $60. Australia and a lot of European countries pay $48, and U.K. also pays $60, etc. The fees vary slightly so don’t quote me on anything!  There is a chart by country to see what you have to pay.

So you’ve filled out the application, paid the visa fee, and now you are waiting for the email! It notifies you that it takes 72 hours to process the visa.

For me, it was just the next day that I received the email!

Application Status: Granted!

The visa is valid for 30 days from entry date. The email lets you know to carry a copy of the eTV on you at the time of travel. They will obtain biometric detail when you arrive. This e-Tourist Visa is also Only Single Entry and non-extendible & non-convertible. 

It was seriously such a beautifully simple process! Now I’m ready for 10 days in Bangalore!

555247_4810472273621_925781898_n

At Jiva – in Vrindavan

Just a sneak peak at a post that will come probably one month from now: How I booked my hotels for Bangalore! I got some great deals on some great hotels from Agoda.com, my favorite! I used Agoda my second time to India and I love it so much. The coolest thing is that I booked my rooms but did “Pay Later” so I don’t have to pay for them until October 13th, with free cancellations! More to come on hotel reviews in the future!

Thanks for reading, guys!

See you in India!

Please let me know if you have any questions! Did everyone else have a similar experience as I did when it comes to getting the visa? Also: correct any wrong information, I’m not an expert! :p

4 thoughts on “30 Day e-Tourist Visa to India

  1. Am delighted to hear of a Good Visa experience. I wish they would extend the time span of application to a Year before intended date instead of 4-30 days you mention.From newspaper reports, I think list of countries is nearly 150 now.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

